TexMATYC Minutes 2008

The TexMATYC Business Meeting was held Friday, February 22, 2008 at the Fairmont Hotel, Dallas, TX.

- TexMATYC President Mel Griffin recognized the collaboration of TexMATYC with the TCCTA Math Section, Chaired by Phil Anderson, in presenting a full slate of presentations for the February 22-23, 2008 Conference. The keynote speaker was Professor Joseph Gallian, MAA President. Other speakers included Linda Zientek (SHSU) and Jim Wohlgenhagen (President, TASM, Plano ISD), Gerald Busard (SAC), Linda Buchanan (Howard College), Ron Harshbarger (U. SC)Frank Wilson (AMATYC), Amy Yound and Nan Strebeck (Navarro College), Alan Tussy (Citrus CC, CA), and Richard Aufmann (Palomar College, CA).
- President Griffin also recognized the successful completion of the third AMATYC Regional Conference, June 15-16, 2007, at San Antonio College. The collaboration among TexMATYC, ArizMATYC, OkMATYC, and NMMATYC featured as keynote speakers both Professor Joseph Gallian, who spoke on rotations of motifs, and Gloria White, who spoke on Texas data for P-16 mathematics education. Over 50 talks were given over a two-day period. The proceeds from the conference were \$2,457.50.
- TexMATYC Vice President, Paula Wilhite, recognized the college representatives to TexMATYC with certificates. She announced the benefits of membership in TexMATYC and encouraged participants to join the organization.
- The top five Texas teams in the national rankings of the AMATYC Student Mathematics League were Austin CC (12th), LSC-North Harris (25th), Tarrant County College (41st), Collin County CC (55th), and Blinn CC (122nd). The top five Texas students were Shilen Patel, LSC-NH; James Pappas (LSC-NH), Arnold Nguyen, Austin CC, Jesus Aldape, Tarrant County CC, and tied for fifth place, Darwin Natapradja and Young Park.
- There were no nominations for the TexMATYC Teacher Excellence Award for 2008. Members were encouraged to nominate colleagues for the 2009 Award.
- TexMATYC donated \$250.56 to the AMATYC New Orleans Fund. Three individual board members donated an additional \$119.44.

Peg Crider Secretary